Nightshade Trilogy Book Review

This is my first book review on my blog so please bare with me and I will try to review each book without spoilers. This trilogy written by Andrea Cremer consists of the three books: Nightshade, Wolfsbane, and Bloodrose. 

Nightshade


This book was a very solid beginning of a series. I had a strong connection to the characters and embraced the world that I was thrust into. Calla was a strong female protagonist and I loved her for it. She was bad ass and confident. The love triangle was intoroduced and (because I tend to like love triangles) I was ok with it. As the book progresses and gets close to the end, you are led to question the things you were led to believe were fact in the beginning. The book ended in a nice cliffhanger that made me desperately want the first book. All in all, I rated it 5/5 stars. 

Wolfsbane


Based on the cliffhanger from the last book, I was ready to continue the action and dive even deeper into this story that led me to start questioning everything I was told. Let me tell you, I was very disappointed in the action of this book. For most of the book, it was all talking and all story set up. This book centered about learning the truth behind all the lies from the first book. To be honest there wasn’t much action until pretty much the last 5 chapters or so of the book, but those last few chapters were so action packed that my heart was racing. Once again you were left at a cliffhanger that, despite the majority of this book, made me immediately buy the last one. The love triangle wasn’t brought back to life until the last few chapters. Also, the confident Calla that I loved from book one had vanished. Now she questioned all her decision. She had so much self doubt and self loathing. Some of it I could kind of understand since she is the alpha of her pack and was in her particular circumstances but for the most part I had no clue where the character I had grown to love had gone. I gave this book a generous 4/5 stars for the last few chapters keeping me interested in seeing this series to the end even after the serve case of second book slump. 

Bloodrose


The final book. The big finale. And what a finale it was. Unlike the past book, the action did not stop with this one. This book made me feel so many emotions and it still does. There was so much that happened and a lot of character deaths (some sad and some joyous). The love triangle was kind of the center of this book and lead to such insanely tense moments that at times I swear it was hard to breathe. But despite that, I did have some problems with this book. Firstly, if you read books to get that perfect ending, prepare to be severely disappointed. Though compared to how badly things could have been, there was a happy ending. It was in no way that ending of a book that ties everything into a pretty bow for you. A lot of people I’ll be very mad at this book for the ending. The ending upset me so much that I cried. And with all that I just said, I gave this book a 5/5 stars. 

I know many of you are confused. A book that made me cry and get super upset, with an ending that I just can’t agree with, got a perfect rating. How? That’s just the thing. When you look at this book for what it is, and not what you wanted it to be, it’s a perfect read. It was an amazing finale to a serious I mostly enjoyed. But more than anything, this book-this series-this storyline made me feel something and if you read anything, no matter what kind of literature it is, and it makes you feel than it’s done its job. 

At the end of the day, I give this series a 4.5/5 stars. And I’ll leave it at that. 

Leave a Reply

