Greek Mythology Book Tag

ZEUS (JUPITER): GOD OF THE SKY AND THUNDER/KING OF THE GODS

Favorite book (choose your own category!)

This is a very hard question to answer since I have so many favorites. I’m gonna have to give 3 answers:

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

This book was amazing. I read it this year and I loved everything about it. It was a great second installment of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series and one of the best second books in a series that I’ve ever seen. I loved how it was written. It was action packed and I adore books that completely blow my mind. It was so good and Rhysand is my favorite male protagonist of all time right now. I have such a crush on him.

  • 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

13rw

I read this book while I was still in high school and it had a strong impact on me and is my favorite stand-alone. It’s a book that centers around suicide so be aware of that. I loved how this book was written. It makes you think about how interactions with people really matter and that if you’re cruel to someone, no matter how small the action,  you never know how much damage you are actually doing since you don’t know their story. This book makes me strive to be a better person.

  • If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For by Jamie Tworkowski

bookpage-book.png

I can not explain to you how much Jamie means to me. He’s the founder behind To Write Love on Her Arms and I adore everything they stand for. As someone who has battled with mental illness for a long time, I’ve idolized Jamie and TWLOHA. When this book came out, I was so happy and I may have shed a tear or two while reading it.

POSEIDON (NEPTUNE): GOD OF THE SEAS AND EARTHQUAKES

Book that drowned you in feels

  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All-the-Bright-Places-jkt.jpg

This book is also centered depression and mental illness so needless to say there are going to be some sad parts. Even though it kicks you in the feels, I think when you read the end you are left with a strange sense of peace.

HADES (PLUTO): GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD

Favorite book with a dark/ominous plot

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

we were liars

Just the title told me that this book was going to have some bad times. You are left to wonder what’s going to happen and you aren’t quite sure what is going on. But trust me, when everything makes sense, you will be so shocked that you won’t know how to continue.

HERA (JUNO): GODDESS OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY

Cutest fictional couple

  • Splintered by A. G. Howard

splitered

I’m sorry but as much as I love and adore Rhysand, there will never be a greater OTP than Morpheus and Alyssa. They complete each other, they are perfect together, I ship it.

ATHENA (MINERVA): GODDESS OF WISDOM, HANDICRAFT AND STRATEGIC WARFARE

Series with the best world-building

  • The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

infernaldevices

I don’t really know what to say. I felt like I was transported into the world in every single book. This trilogy was just so good.

APHRODITE (VENUS): GODDESS OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

Most beautiful cover on a 2016 release

  • And I Darken by Kiersten White

and-i-darken

This cover is so simplistic which I like. It’s dark, it’s ominous, and purple is my favorite color so more brownie points from me.

ARES (MARS): GOD OF WAR AND BLOODSHED

Most violent book you’ve ever read

I have two again.

  • Illuminae by Aime Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae

I haven’t even finished this book yet and can already tell that this is  probably the most violent one I’ll read true.

  • City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

city-of-fallen-angels

I’m sorry but any book that has parts about dead babies is gonna be pretty high up there.

HEPHAESTUS (VULCAN): GOD OF BLACKSMITHS AND FIRE

Scorching hot swoon worthy character

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

Rhysand. Enough said.

ARTEMIS (DIANA): GODDESS OF THE HUNT AND VIRGINITY

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine

  • Splintered by A. G. Howard

splitered

I tend not to have super strong feelings about the female protagonists in the books that I read but Alyssa has made the strongest impression.

PHOEBUS APOLLO (APOLLO): GOD OF LIGHT AND HEALING

Sequel book that redeemed its series

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

I could’t really think of anything so I kinda cheated and went with ACOMAF because that seems to be the general consensus about this series. Personally, I liked the first book but I will admit that the sequel made it my favorite series of all time and it isn’t eve finished yet. 

HERMES (MERCURY): MESSENGER GOD OF THIEVES AND COMMERCE

Book with the best message

  • The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch

last-lecture

Just read this book. It’s beautiful.

HESTIA (VESTA): GODDESS OF THE HEARTH AND HOME

Book with the most relatable story

  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

the unexpected everything

I’m going to try not to give anything away but the friendship aspect of this book. I went through something very similar recently and that hit home for me.

DEMETER (CERES): GODDESS OF FERTILITY AND AGRICULTURE

Favorite bookish setting

  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

eat_pray_love_-_elizabeth_gilbert_2007

I love the idea of traveling and want to see the world so I loved the traveling aspect of this book.

DIONYSUS (BACCHUS): GOD OF WINE AND CELEBRATION

2016 release you are most anticipating

  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer

9781250080271_p0_v1_s260x420

I adore Alice in Wonderland so a book about the backstory of the Queen of Hearts is right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

