August Wrap Up

So, August ended up being a better reading month than I thought it was going to be. I once again was in a bit of a reading slump and I found it very hard to have the desire to read anything so I tried to focus on graphic novels and manga this month.

  • Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, Vol. 1 by Shiro Amano

days02

I loved this manga. I found it to be so cute and a great companion for the video game. I hold Kingdom Hearts so sacred so I was very nervous to read this and kept putting it off because I expected it to be bad but I was wrong. I found it to be a great first volume. (5/5)

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

to-all-the-boys

I loved this book. I heard about it quite often on booktube and decided to give it a try and it was funny, cute, and a very pleasant read. I wanted to finish it despite the fact that I was in a reading slump. Can’t wait to finish this trilogy. (5/5)

  • Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1 by James Patterson

9780316119894_p0_v1_s260x420

I picked this up on a whim because the cover looked pretty and the author sounded familiar to me and I enjoyed it. It wasn’t until after I finished that I realized that this was based off of the book series which I’ve never read. So for that, I kinda felt like I was missing things or I couldn’t truly appreciate it but it was still good. (4/5)

  • The Elite by Kiera Cass

the elite

I loved the first book of this series and quickly bought this one after finishing it. But then my reading slump hit and I struggled so much to pick this up even though I wanted to read it. I ended up listening to it on audiobook and it was ok. I feel like I would have liked it better had I actually read it. But the story did continue nicely and I liked that America seemed to get a bit more of a backbone in this one I guess. There were times when I was basically slamming my hand into my forehead but I think I liked her a bit better in this one. I did actually find some things that I didn’t like about both Maxon and Aspen which was a bummer. (4/5)

  • Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, Vol. 2 by Shiro Amano

kingdom_hearts_3582_days_vol_2-23709696-777483588-frntl.jpg

There’s not much I can say. I liked how the story continued. It was a fast read and I enjoyed it but I did like the first volume a bit better. (4/5)

  • Coraline by Craig P. Russell

coraline_graphic_novel.jpg

Let me start by saying that I very much despise the movie. I would give my rant about why but that’s for a different blog post. I only picked up this graphic novel because I wanted to see what the original story was that the movie was based off of. I went in expecting to hate it and I actually enjoyed it the whole time. (4/5)

  • Where She Went by Gayle Forman

WhereSheWent.jpg

I tried to listen to this on audiobook right after I finished the first book and was so confused. After I actually read the synopsis, I was angry and put it down. I ended up picking it up after I had time to stew and now that I knew the point of view changed and what the story was about and I finished it. I liked it. It wasn’t as good as the first one but I saw no reason to be mad at it. I understood what happened, why things happened the way they did, and appreciate how realistic it was. Good read. (4/5)

  • City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels.jpg

Where do I begin? Why didn’t the series stop at the original trilogy? The ending was fine. But anyway, it was so hard for me to get into this book. The first time I tried to read it, I actually got several chapters in and put it down. So I tried the audiobook. And I thought this book was ok. It kinda got confusing though I liked the character development and the relationships. The characters were kinda all that this book had going for me. (3/5)

  • Suicide Squad, Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth by Adam Glass

suicide_squad_vol_4_1

So I recently watched the movie and decided that I wanted to see the reference material so to speak. So I bought this as a birthday gift to myself just to try it out. I love Harley and I’ve loved her since I was a little girl. And I did enjoy this first volume. I want to see how the rest of them progress. (4/5)

Leave a Reply

