November Wrap-Up

  • Suicide Squad, Vol. 2: Basilisk Rising by Adam Glass

ss-vol-2

So, this was a nice continuation to the first volume. I enjoyed it even though it did get a bit confusing at times. I don’t like this cover to much and I didn’t like this as much as volume one. Overall, it was pretty ok and I do plan to continue on.

(3/5)

  • Harley Quinn, Vol. 2: Power Outage by Amanda Conner

harley-quinn-volume2

I like this cover. I think it’s pretty and another great second volume of the series. This one also got a bit confusing though since in the middle of the main story they kind of flashed forward by what I’m assuming is a few years even though it’s not really said. Also, at the end it seemed to spin off a bit to something completely unrelated and the art style kept changing which I didn’t like at all. The only positive to the ending was we got a bit of Harley’s origin story which was very nice. Despite the confusing bits, this volume was just as funny and enjoyable as the last one.

(3/5)

Tome Topple Wrap-Up

So for this Read-A-Thon, I was only able to complete the first challenge which was to read 2 Tomes. I did read 3 in all so I’m still super proud of myself and this really helped me see why I shouldn’t be so afraid of really big books since I tend to enjoy them even though they can be intimidating.

  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling

51nboxbobl

I have a confession to make. I have never read the Harry Potter series so this is my first time reading them. I picked up this book while I was in high school and I got half way through before I got bored and put it down. My best friend loves this series and I really want to know what all the hype is about so I decided to read it again and I’m so glad that I did. Just so many emotions and I now have so much love and respect for Dumbledore. He’s so smart and I really hope I pick up the last book as soon as possible.

(3/5)

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

1429820340604

It’s not a secret that I love all gay relationships and that I love boy love so I was super excited to know that this exists. Plus I loved Fangirl and that only added to my own hype. Unfortunately, it was really hard for me to get into this book at first and I think it’s because I did read it right after Harry Potter which I don’t think was the best idea. For about a quarter of this book, I kept going back and forth between if I liked it or not and wether I wanted to DNF it. I’m happy I kept pushing through because I did end up enjoying it. I do want to try to read it again sometime in the future after I’ve finished reading Harry Potter so I can have a true reading experience.

(3/5)

  • City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

cassandra_clare_city_of_lost_souls_book_cover

I love the Mortal Instruments series, at least the original trilogy of it. I didn’t really like City of Fallen Angels at all. I thought it was very confusing and kinda boring. I couldn’t really follow what was going on and I had such a bad reading experience with it that I basically went into this book not really sure what happened in the last book or even whether I wanted to continue the series or not. It took me months to read this. I kept putting it off and putting it down and just had no motivation to read it. But for this Read-A-Thon, I decided to push through and I’m glad I did because I’m so pumped to not only read A City of Heavenly Fire but for some reason I also have a super strong urge to finish The Bane Chronicles.

(3/5)

Leave a Reply

